Unhappy with the world’s leading social network? Say goodbye to all those ‘friends’ to temporarily disable or permanently delete your Facebook account.
Recent events, or just the general state of social media, may have you thinking about taking a break from Facebook. This is not an option for everyone; in this case, tighten your account settings.
But if the social network kicks you out, if you’ve finally had enough and can’t take it anymore, there are ways to get yourself out. Here’s how to delete Facebook.
Deactivating Facebook, Facebook gives you two options: deactivate or delete.
The first one couldn’t be easier. On the desktop, click the menu at the top right of your screen next to your profile picture to select Settings & Privacy > Settings. Click on your Facebook information on the left. Scroll down, and you will see deactivation and delete it at the bottom. (This is a direct link (opens in a new window) to use while logged in.)
If you’re on your iPhone or Android device, tap the three-line hamburger menu, then go to Settings & Privacy Settings > Personal & Account Information Account Ownership & Control > Deactivation & Delete on iOS or Android.
It doesn’t take it lightly. It will do whatever it can to keep you around on Facebook, including emotional blackmail about how much your friends will miss you.
“Deactivation” is not the same as leaving Facebook. Yes, your timeline will disappear, you won’t be able to access the site or account through mobile apps, friends can’t post or contact you, and you’ll lose access to all of these third-party services. that use (or require) Facebook to log in. But, Facebook doesn’t delete the account. Why? So you can reactivate it later (opens in a new window). When you deactivate, if there are, it says right there: “This may be temporary.”
Just in case a predictable reactivation isn’t in your future, download a copy of all your data (posts, photos, videos, chats, etc. on Facebook in a new window – from the menu for Settings and Privacy. Opens Is)
Settings > Your Facebook info > Download your info > View. What you find may surprise you.
How to Delete Facebook Permanently To permanently delete your Facebook account, visit /facebook.com/help delete_account (opens in a new window). Just be aware that, according to Facebook’s data usage policy (opens in a new window), “After you remove your profile information or delete your account, copies of that information may be viewed elsewhere to the extent To the extent it was shared with others, it was otherwise distributed by your privacy settings, or it was copied or stored by other users.” From which
Translation: If you’ve written a comment on a friend’s status update or photo, it will remain even after you delete your profile. Some of your posts and photos may hang around for 90 days after being deleted, though only on Facebook servers, not the live site. Until, on
The grace period for deletion is 30 days. That means Facebook has a month to get rid of your account, just in case you change your mind. It’s just another way to care about Facebook.
Delete or memorialize others. You can’t delete someone else’s account without signing in as them. But you can kick others. Especially young children, since Facebook prohibits children under 13 from complying with federal law (opens in a new window).
To notify Facebook about a user under 13, Report Account (opens in a new window) if Facebook can “reasonably verify” that the account was used by a minor. If there is, it will delete the account immediately without telling anyone.
There is a separate form to request the removal of accounts for people who are medically disabled (opens in a new window) and thus unable to use Facebook. For this to work, the applicant must prove that they are the guardian of the person in question (such as through a power of attorney) as well as provide an official note from a doctor or medical facility that I am a sign of incompetence. Change information necessary to maintain certain privacy, such as medical account numbers, addresses, etc.
If a user has passed away, a legacy contact (opens in a new window) – a Facebook
A friend or relative—designated by the account owner before they died—can access that person’s timeline, once approved by Facebook. A legacy contact may need to provide a link to a death or other document such as a death certificate. Facebook will “memorialize” the page (opens a new one) so that the deceased’s timeline remains under the control of legacy contacts. That person cannot post as deceased, but in the profile picture and window will be able to manage the cover photo, manage tribute posts made by other friends, and handle new friend requests of the deceased. The page will say “Remember” above the person’s name.
If a legacy contact prefers, they can permanently remove the page (opens in the new window). Designate a designated Legacy Contact now to take over your account after you pass by going to Settings & Privacy > Settings > General > Memorialization Settings. Type the friend’s name so that it finds their Facebook profile, then click Add. Then click Send to notify that person. (You can also go here to remove or change a legacy contact.) Click
(Credit: Pkadz) Once you’ve chosen a legacy contact (and you can only have one), you’ll get a notification from Facebook every year to check that the contact should stay the same.
Yes, you have the option to ensure that after you die, if a legacy contact notifies Facebook of your death, your account is deleted. Whether a legacy contact wants the account to be memorialized. This is a good way to gain control from Great Beyond.